Continuing education is only required for resident insurance producers and adjusters. This includes insurance adjusters that have designated Louisiana as their home state for the purpose of licensing. The requirements are as follows:
1. Producers licensed for one or more lines of life, health and accident, property, casualty or personal lines – 24 hours
2. Producers licensed for line of bail bonds – 12 hours
3. Producers licensed for line of title – 6 hours
4. Adjuster license – 24 hours
Beginning with the renewals of 2012 the CE hours for an insurance producer must include three (3) hours of education in ethics. Beginning with the renewals of 2013 the CE hours for an insurance producer with the lines of property, casualty or personal lines must include three (3) hours of education in flood.
Under Louisiana law (La. R.S. 22:1575) an individual producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual has complied with the long-term care training requirements. This requirement is separate and distinct from the continuing education requirement listed above. The training courses may be submitted to the Louisiana Department of Insurance by the provider to receive continuing education credits. If the courses are approved for continuing education credit, they may be applied to the minimum requirements listed above.
La R.S. 22:1576, recently enacted by Act 612 of the 2012 legislative session, requires individual producers engaged in the sale of annuity products to complete a one-time four (4) hour training course. This requirement is separate and distinct from the continuing education requirements for a licensee and applies to both resident and nonresident producers. The requirement applies to all types of annuity products.
If you have a Life, Health, and Accident insurance license in Louisiana – it is time to renew your license and complete your continuing education!
Looking to Complete your Continuing Education for 2015?
You can complete your continuing education by one of our 3 convenient methods:
Live, Online, or by Correspondence. To renew your P&C license you only need 24 hours, and these hours can be completed by any delivery method YOU choose!
ONLINE COURSES – Click Any Title Below to Register
*Many more courses available, please CLICK HERE
for our complete list of offerings.
Donaldson Educational Services has your solution to your insurance continuing education needs. Whether you prefer a LIVE class, a CORRESPONDENCE class, or an ONLINE class – we have a variety of interesting courses at competitive prices to make your renewal process a rewarding experience.
In Louisiana, all insurance producers must meet the state continuing education requirement in order to renew his or her license. In 2009, this law will require all Life/Health/Accident producers to complete 8 continuing education hours and renew their license by the timetable set forth by the state. A complete review of the new continuing education law is below.
Here is what you need to know in order to renew your insurance license in Louisiana: New Law! (effective 1/09)
The Louisiana Department of insurance has announced that effective for the 2009 renewal cycle, insurance license renewals will change to a birth date renewal system. The first license cycle which will be affected by this law change are those Life, Health, & Accident licenses which are set to expire on April 30, 2010. You will no longer be able to renew your license anytime between now and April 30, 2010. You must complete your continuing education requirements and renew your license with LDI by the new birth date deadline implemented by the Department of Insurance.
This new renewal process will open for all licensees who currently hold a Life, Health, & Accident license and their birth month is the month of May. For those licensees, the renewal period will open on April 1, 2009 and remain open until May 30, 2009. Any renewals received after May 30 will be subject to penalties.
For a complete schedule of license birth month renewal timelines, please click the link below.
For all Life/Health/Accident producers in Louisiana, for this renewal cycle you may complete your required 8 hours by any delivery method – which means you may choose to take your hours live, by correspondence, or online. The choice is completely up to YOU!