Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements 2015-08-10T15:41:07+00:00

In order to obtain a Louisiana real estate license, you will need to meet certain licensing guidelines. The Louisiana Real Estate Commission handles the administration of real estate licenses in the state of Louisiana, and helps set the licensing requirements. See below for a simple guide on what you need to do to get a real estate license in Louisiana. If you have any questions about the licensing process, click here to contact our team of experts is standing by to help guide you step-by-step.

louisiana real estate license

How to Obtain a Louisiana Real Estate License

 

Salesperson Licensing Requirements:

An applicant for a Louisiana Real Estate License must:

1.  Be at least 18 years of age

2.  Be a high school graduate or hold a GED or equivalent from another country

3.  Complete the 90 Hour Pre-License Course 101

4. Comply with all application procedures of the LREC including a background check

5.  Pass the Real Estate Salesperson License Examination

6.  Obtain a sponsorship from a licensed Louisiana Real Estate Broker and provide proof of errors and omissions insurance (e&o)

Broker Licensing Requirements:

An applicant for a Louisiana Real Estate License must:

 1.  You must have an active Real Estate Salesperson License (or equivalent) for four years in any state/jurisdiction

 NOTE: You do not have to currently have your real estate salesperson license. You just need to have an active license for four years. Effective 8/1/16 the two years immediately prior to the broker license application need to be in active status. Though a salesperson license must be held for four years, it does not have to be a Louisiana License.

2. You must have obtained a high school diploma or GED

3.  150 Hours of approved course work in courses specified by the LREC (includes a 30 hour broker responsibility portion)

4. Comply with all application procedures required by the LREC including a background check

5.  Pass the Real Estate Broker Licensing Examination

6. Provide proof of valid errors and omissions insurance (e&o)

If you are currently licensed in another state as a salesperson or broker or have taken college courses in real estate related topics, some of these requirements may be amended.  Please contact one of our Customer Service Representatives for details. We are here to help you understand the licensing requirements!

In Louisiana, there is no state residency requirement to have a Louisiana Salesperson’s License or Louisiana Broker’s License.  You are only required to be a United States Citizen or a Legal Alien.


The Salesperson Licensing Process: A Step-By-Step Guide

Step 1: Register for Real Estate 101 from DONALDSON 

You may register online by clicking the link above OR by calling one of our Customer Service Representatives Toll Free at 1-800-257-2741 for any one of our many Convenient Locations for Morning, Afternoon, Full Day or Evening Courses.  Payment is not due until the end of the first class session. In addition, the Real Estate 101 course is available online.

Step 2: Complete your 90 hour real estate course including recording a passing score on the course final exam.

Once you complete your course, you will receive a certificate from Donaldson which indicates your successful completion of the required course. This certificate will be needed in order to apply for your license with the LREC.

Step 3:  Submit Your License Application to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission

We will provide you with a copy of the License Application in class and share with you how to fill it  out, where to send it, and when it is due.  You are not allowed to apply for the examination until you have completed your 90 hours and had your license application approved by the LREC. In addition, a background check is required of new license applicants for either a salesperson or broker’s license. You can find information on the background check process from the LREC by clicking here.

Step 4: Apply with PSI Examination Services to Take the Examination
  

You cannot apply for a testing appointment with PSI until your application is on file with the Louisiana Real  Estate Commission and you have an official “Examination Authorization Form”. PSI is the national testing service that administers the exam.  The exam is given on an ongoing basis several times a week in Metairie, Baton Rouge, Shreveport and other locations throughout the state. Donaldson will provide students with examination information to assist in the test scheduling process.

Step 5: Attend the Real Estate License Exam Prep Course (Optional)

Of course, we cannot guarantee that any student will pass the real estate test the first time. However –  we are so confident you will pass the examination after taking this course we will pay your retake fee* if you take this course and fail the examination! (certain terms and conditions apply – contact our customer service staff for details)

Step 6: Submit your Pass Report to the Commission and Provide Proof of E&O Insurance

When you pass the examination (we know you will!) the last step in the licensing process is to submit the Pass Report to the commission. Once this is done – and you have provided proof of valid e&o insurance – your license will be issued and you can go to work! Remember you must have a sponsoring broker if you are applying for a salesperson’s real estate license.

Let Donaldson Help You Obtain Your Louisiana Real Estate License:

register real estate license online

*Passing scores on the real estate exam cannot be guaranteed. Certain terms and conditions apply to retake guarantee program.